Review: Triple Tube Pro Task Lamp

My former setup consisted of two FORSÅ lamps with daylight bulbs. I positioned them before and behind me on the right and left side. It was a good solution so far, but theres always room for improvement, right ? What was probably bothering me most was that i had good lightning from every direction except from above. So i decided to change that situation. As the headline foreshadows i decided after some research in favor for a  “Triple Tube Pro Task Lamp” from Lightcraft.

First impressions

My impression as I opened the packet was good. Everything was securely stored and packaged. Which in my case was more than necessary because my parcel service wasn’t that careful with the package. Actually the styrofoam was broken in multiple occasions. 

IMG_0388

 

Technical specifications 

  • Fluorescent tube 3 x 14 W.
  • Kelvin 6400 k.
  • lamp head length 61 cm.
  • lamp head depth  11 cm.
  •  lamp head height 6 cm.
  • Overall weight about  3,45 kg (including package ).

Handling

Everything looks well done and well processed. I discovered no sharp edges so far. The lamp itself has three joints and two arm elements. Everything moves smoothly and well. The power cable is mounted alongside the arms and is in no danger of getting clamped in the joints.

You can move the lamp head for about 80 cm horizontally from the lamp mounting. You can move the lamp head in almost any desirable direction. Even more the 90 degrees from the vertical is possible. The lamp heads keeps in the place where you put it. No unwanted movement of the lamp head. ( at least after a week of use ) . The power button is mounted on the lamp head and is easy reachable.

 

Illumination

It’s really great ! I love it !! Ok, hmm. Lets try to be a little bit more objective ! I think the main difference to my former setup is that the overall lightning is now much better than before. Down below you can imagine the difference. The left picture is as you can guess the state before. The right after i installed the lamp. When i made the picture it was not fully dark outside. If its dark the difference is much more noticeable than before.  The advantage when the light head is actually mounted above you is that there is nothing in between the model and the lamp.

IMG_0393 IMG_0392

Heat

i haven’t had issues with the lamp heat so far. Even after hours of use the lamp body is only warm. Even below the lamp the heat is barely noticeable. Because of the grid it’s also not possible to burn oneself. 

Sound

On the first look this category seems a little bit strange, but the lamp actually emits a little bit of noise. Because we have an aquarium and its lighten by a 400 W HQI lamp that’s not a real problem for me, because the HQI actually emits a louder noise to which you need some time to get used to it. But despite the HQI if there is a TV or PC nearby you will not hear the hum at all .

Additional resources

If you’re looking for a another good review I suggest reading the one at feedyournerd. He also made a lot more pictures than me especially from the mechanical parts of the lamp. I highly recommend reading his review too !

A list of reviews of various other lamps can also be found on feedyournerd

Hope you enjoyed reading the review and it was helpful for your decision process.

2 comments on “Review: Triple Tube Pro Task Lamp

  1. Thor says:

    A few years ago I upgraded my lighting as well, and it makes a HUGE difference. Great review.

    • Wolfsherz says:

      It really makes a difference.
      I also use one of these to light up the working place . We bought it originally als aquarium lamp but because we had no clue and got bad consultation we bought the 6500K variant. So the light was too cool for the aquarium but after it rested a while in our cellar i finally got the idea to mount it above my desk. Its amazing !

Leave a comment